Why I’m glad they didn’t assassinate Idi Amin


I came accross this commentary on the Independent website:

Why I’m glad they didn’t assassinate Idi Amin  by  Yasmin Alibhai-Brown.

Written in the wake of the death of Idi Amin it is a ramble regarding the role of the British ( and ‘others’) ‘ who helped to create the misery Asians in East Africa went through’. 

She states:

‘Too many white men acquainted with him still say that he was a thoroughly enjoyable man (the same sort of raffish folk who describe the unrepentant fascist Diana Mosley, who also died this week, as “charming”). He made many such men kneel down before him or carry him aloft in a wooden boat in 1975. These whims merely revealed that he was “mad”, they said.’

I have sent the following to her, and to her editor, asking for her to action in making this statement to be remedied: 

‘This paragraph is grossly inaccurate, and defamatory of my father, Robert Scanlon, who died at the hands of Idi Amin.
He was one of the ‘ kneelers’ and ‘carriers’, deeply humiliating acts which the men carried out the to prevent harm to others  if they did not cooperate.

 
My father became a Ugandan citizen and regarded Uganda as his ‘homeland’, the country where I grew up, and my sister was born. My parents risked their lives by helping others (ultimately my father lost his life). They helped deported Asians like you by recruiting family members in Canada to act as sponsors to my mothers work colleagues who were their close friends, and are even now settled in Ontario. They helped a Ugandan friend, a minister in Obote’s government, who was nearly beaten to death by Amin’s regime.

It is disgusting that you associate my father with a fascist like Diana Mitford (Mosley), and that you write about my father in the same paragraph as ‘raffish folk’ who found Idi Amin a ‘thoroughly enjoyable man’. 
 
Vilification of, by inference, my father and his colleagues in this way is libellous and I would like you to take necessary steps to remedy your action.
 

  

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

